Compare
Product School Alternatives
By Andre Albuquerque · Last checked:
Why choose Builders Camp
The only option on this list that covers every course, live and self-paced, for one payment with no renewal.
- Product School: $2,999 one-time for one live certification. Builders Camp: €749 one-time for all 40+ bootcamps, live and self-paced.
- Pay once with Lifetime. Product School's memberships, Reforge and Product Faculty renew every year.
- 1:1 mentorship included: book sessions with 40+ mentors and directors, subject to availability.
- Hands-on AI building: Bootcamps on Claude Code, Cursor, Lovable, AI agents and vibe coding, among others.
- Each bootcamp is led by its own programme director, a working practitioner.
Builders Camp is the one option here that covers every bootcamp, live and self-paced, for one payment with no renewal: €749 one-time, or €249 a month, cancel any time. Product School's memberships, Reforge and Product Faculty bill every year, Maven charges per course, and Coursera is recorded video with no live classes.
| Builders Camp | Product Schoolas of 28 September 2026 | Reforgeas of 28 September 2026 | Mavenas of 28 September 2026 | Product Facultyas of 28 September 2026 | Courseraas of 28 September 2026 | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Price | €749 one-time or €249/monthIncludes ALL 40+ bootcamps (live and self-paced), 1:1 mentorship with 40+ mentors and directors (subject to availability) and every experience in the membership: all 9 learning tracks, monthly live masterclasses and the on-demand archive, Quest Mode, templates, a certificate per completed bootcamp and community access. Sales tax included. | $2,999 per course, up to $4,999/yr$2,999 for one certification; Pro $3,999 a year; Unlimited $4,999 a year | $1,995/yr + tax$1,995 a year plus tax, billed annually | $499 to $2,700 per course1Priced per course by each instructor; sampled AI and product courses cost $499 to $2,700 | $5,000/yr, auto-renews$5,000 a year, renews automatically unless cancelled | €51/month or €346/yrCoursera Plus €51 a month or €346 a year (prices shown to a visitor in Portugal) |
| What one payment includes | All 40+ bootcamps, one priceAll 40+ bootcamps (live and self-paced), all 9 learning tracks, 1:1 mentorship subject to availability, monthly live masterclasses and the archive, Quest Mode, templates, a certificate per completed bootcamp and community access | 11 certifications for $4,999/yrUnlimited ($4,999 a year): 11 live certifications, weekly live AI workshops, the on-demand library, the alumni community, one ProductCon ticket and access to partner AI tools | 40+ on-demand coursesLive courses (one per season), 40+ on-demand courses, 600+ guides, 1,400+ artifacts and the Slack community | One courseOne course: its live sessions, recordings, a cohort community space, projects and a certificate | 8 certifications for one year2A year of access to 8 live certification courses, retakes at no extra cost, weekly live AI workshops, mastermind networking sessions, 1:1 capstone feedback from faculty and new certifications at no extra cost | Most Coursera certificatesCoursera Plus: access to most certificates on Coursera, including all four PM programmes checked |
| Format | Live cohorts + fully self-pacedBootcamps run live in cohorts and are also available fully self-paced | Live online cohortsLive online cohorts; each certification ends in an instructor-graded capstone | On-demand, 1 live course per seasonOn-demand courses year-round, plus one live cohort course per member per season (Spring and Fall) | Live cohorts, per courseLive cohort courses on Zoom with recordings, usually 2 to 6 weeks; also 1-day workshops and some self-paced courses with office hours | Live cohorts with capstonesLive instructor-led cohorts with recordings, weekly live workshops and a capstone per certification | Self-paced video, no live classesSelf-paced recorded video, quizzes and projects; no live classes |
| Time per week and length | 1 or 2 weeks per bootcampEach bootcamp runs 1 or 2 weeks: a live 2-hour lecture, self-paced microlessons, a practical challenge, a 1-hour live Q&A masterclass and a graded final quiz | 3 weeks, 12 live hours3 weeks per certification: 6 live sessions of 2 hours (12 live hours), or a Saturday format | 3 to 5 hours a week3 to 5 hours a week; live courses mostly run 4 weeks (a few 6) with one 90-minute session a week | 2 to 6 weeks per courseSet per course; sampled AI-for-PM courses run 2 to 6 weeks at 2 to 8 hours a week | 3 to 6 weeks, 4 to 6 h/week3 to 6 weeks per certification; 4 to 6 hours a week | About 3 months at 10 h/weekIBM AI Product Manager: 10 courses, 3 months at 10 hours a week (Coursera's estimate) |
| Instructors | A programme director per bootcampEach bootcamp is led by its own programme director, a working practitioner, from a pool of 40+ mentors and directors | Rotating practitionersPractitioner instructors who rotate per cohort; the homepage names employers including Anthropic, OpenAI, Google, Meta and Netflix | Named operators per courseNamed operators per course, for example Sachin Rekhi, Ravi Mehta and Jiaona Zhang | Independent expertsIndependent experts who create and run their own courses | Practitioners at AI and tech companies3Named practitioners at OpenAI, Anthropic, Google and Uber, teaching in a personal capacity | IBM, Microsoft and university staffPartner staff, for example the IBM Skills Network team; university faculty on the Duke and UVA programmes |
| 1:1 mentorship | Included, subject to availability1:1 mentorship included: book sessions with 40+ mentors and directors, subject to availability | No 1:1 mentorshipNo 1:1 mentorship or coaching listed in any tier on the pricing page | No 1:1 mentorshipNo 1:1 mentorship listed on the pricing or membership pages | Varies by courseSet by each course, not a platform feature; for example, the AI PM Bootcamp (Marily Nika) includes a mentor and 3 hours of 1:1 time with software engineers | No standing 1:1 mentorship4No standing 1:1 mentorship listed; the Fellowship includes 1:1 capstone feedback from faculty, and the Teams page lists 1:1 coaching | No 1:1 mentorshipNo 1:1 mentorship; IBM Product Manager lists mock interviews and resume support |
| Community | Slack communityCommunity access, including the Slack community | Alumni community (Pro and Unlimited)Alumni community, included in Pro and Unlimited (not in the single certification) | Slack community | Per-cohort space onlyEach cohort has its own Slack or forum space; no community shared across courses | Slack communityPM Slack community | Discussion forumsCourse discussion forums |
| Certificate | LinkedIn certificate per bootcampLinkedIn-integrated, uniquely identified certificate per completed bootcamp; stays accessible after you cancel | Certificate with LinkedIn badgeCertificate with a LinkedIn badge per certification | Certificate of completionDownloadable certificate of completion | Certificate per courseCertificate issued by Maven on the instructor's behalf after the cohort ends; can be added to LinkedIn | Certificate per courseOne certificate per course, awarded after a faculty-reviewed capstone (a working AI product, a demo video and an AI PRD) | Shareable certificateShareable certificate for LinkedIn; IBM digital badge on IBM programmes; ACE college credit recommendation on IBM Product Manager and Microsoft AI Product Manager |
| AI building coverage | Claude Code, Cursor, Lovable, agentsBootcamps on Claude Code, Cursor, Lovable, AI agents and vibe coding, among others | AI build certificationsLive certifications in Claude Code for PMs, Vibe Coding, Codex for PMs, Agentic Workflows and Loops, AI Evals and AI Product Management | AI strategy, evals and prototypingLive AI courses listed: AI Transformation, AI Productivity, AI Evals, AI Prototyping, AI Strategy, AI Product Leadership and AI Growth | Separate AI courses per instructor5The Claude Code for product managers category lists 10 cohort courses and 3 workshops; tools named on course pages include Claude Code, Codex, Lovable, MCP and n8n | AI PM, Claude, agentic engineering, evalsCourses include AI Product Management, AI-Native PM with Claude, Agentic Engineering and AI Evals | Generative AI and prompting basicsIBM AI Product Manager includes courses on generative AI, prompt engineering basics, foundation models and building AI-powered products; Microsoft AI Product Manager names Microsoft 365 Copilot, Power BI and Azure, and no AI coding tools |
| Language and schedule | English, live or self-pacedEnglish; live sessions run on business days, and every bootcamp is also available self-paced | US Pacific timeCohort times listed in US Pacific time, with weekday and Saturday slots; language of instruction not stated on the site | US Pacific morningsLive sessions on Tuesday, Wednesday and Thursday in US Pacific time, mostly mornings; recordings posted within 72 hours | Set by each instructor6Courses checked are in English; each instructor sets the session times, for example Claude Code for Product Managers meets Wednesdays 17:30 to 19:00 UTC | Session times not published7Site and course pages in English; session times and time zone not published on productfaculty.com | Self-paced, subtitledEnglish with machine-translated subtitles and localised pages; self-paced, so no time zone |
- 1 Maven, price: checked on 29 September 2026.
- 2 Product Faculty, what one payment includes: checked on 29 September 2026.
- 3 Product Faculty, instructors: checked on 29 September 2026.
- 4 Product Faculty, 1:1 mentorship: checked on 29 September 2026.
- 5 Maven, ai building coverage: checked on 29 September 2026.
- 6 Maven, language and schedule: checked on 29 September 2026.
- 7 Product Faculty, language and schedule: checked on 29 September 2026.
Facts about other providers come from each provider's own site; prices checked on 28 September 2026. Think something has changed? Email hey@builderscamp.com and we will check it and correct the page.
Which option fits which reader
Builders Camp
Best for most people paying their own way. One price covers every bootcamp, live and self-paced: €749 one-time (Lifetime) or €249 a month (Monthly), sales tax included. Lifetime is paid once, with nothing to renew. 1:1 mentorship included: book sessions with 40+ mentors and directors, subject to availability. No stated prerequisites to join: no prior product management experience or coding skills required at platform level.
Product School
Fits if your employer covers a US-priced annual plan and you only need live certifications scheduled on US Pacific time. Price: $2,999 for one certification; Pro $3,999 a year; Unlimited $4,999 a year. No 1:1 mentorship is listed in any tier.
Reforge
Fits experienced practitioners whose company pays for an annual membership, since courses cannot be bought one at a time. Price: $1,995 a year plus tax, billed annually.
Maven
Fits if you only need one course from one named expert and are happy to pay course by course. Priced per course by each instructor; sampled AI and product courses cost $499 to $2,700. Each cohort has its own community space, with nothing shared across courses.
Product Faculty
Fits if you want a year of AI certification courses and can commit to an annual fee that renews automatically. Price: $5,000 a year, renews automatically unless cancelled. Session times are not published on its site.
Coursera
Fits if you want the lowest monthly cost and are fine with recorded video only. Price: Coursera Plus €51 a month or €346 a year (prices shown to a visitor in Portugal). Self-paced recorded video, quizzes and projects; no live classes.
How do the prices compare?
Product School's list prices: $2,999 for one certification; Pro $3,999 a year; Unlimited $4,999 a year. Every alternative here prices differently, so compare what one payment buys rather than the headline number. Prices are in each provider's own currency, and the list below does not convert them.
- Builders Camp: €749 one-time (Lifetime) or €249 a month (Monthly), sales tax included. Lifetime is a one-time payment with no subscription; Monthly renews monthly and can be cancelled any time.
- Reforge: $1,995 a year plus tax, billed annually. Annual membership only; courses cannot be bought individually.
- Maven: Priced per course by each instructor; sampled AI and product courses cost $499 to $2,700. Pay per course; no all-courses subscription listed on maven.com.
- Product Faculty: $5,000 a year, renews automatically unless cancelled. Annual, auto-renewing; interest-free payment plans offered (instalment amounts not published).
- Coursera: Coursera Plus €51 a month or €346 a year (prices shown to a visitor in Portugal). Monthly or annual subscription (Coursera Plus); 7-day free trial on monthly.
Product School and Maven both sell single courses, so set one course against what Builders Camp's one payment covers. Product School: $2,999 one-time for one live certification. Maven: $499 to $2,700 per course, across the AI and product courses sampled, set by each instructor. Builders Camp: €749 one-time for all 40+ bootcamps. At the ECB euro reference rate of 29 September 2026 (€1 = $1.1355), Builders Camp Lifetime costs less than one Product School single certification, and less than one year of Reforge or Product Faculty. Course lengths differ, so this compares what each payment buys, not one course against one bootcamp.
Coursera Plus costs less up front than Builders Camp Lifetime, so compare what it includes rather than the price. Coursera, as of 28 September 2026: Self-paced recorded video, quizzes and projects; no live classes. No 1:1 mentorship; IBM Product Manager lists mock interviews and resume support. Builders Camp: Bootcamps run live in cohorts and are also available fully self-paced. 1:1 mentorship included: book sessions with 40+ mentors and directors, subject to availability.
The split that matters is renewal. Product School's memberships, Reforge and Product Faculty all bill every year, so the cost repeats for as long as you want access. Builders Camp's Lifetime plan is one payment with no renewal, and it covers every bootcamp. Maven is paid course by course, and Coursera runs month to month or year to year. For a wider view of what bootcamps cost across formats, see how much a product management bootcamp costs.
Which alternatives work if you are new to product management?
Builders Camp states no prerequisites, and Coursera labels its PM programmes for beginners. Builders Camp: No stated prerequisites to join: no prior product management experience or coding skills required at platform level. Coursera: Beginners: all five PM programmes checked are labelled Beginner.
Product School's AI build courses ask for more. The Vibe Coding page says "This is not an entry level course" and "Completion of AI Product Management Certification is strongly advised". Product Faculty takes a different line on technical skill: PMs, engineers, designers, founders and executives; the FAQ says "You do not need to be technical". Maven: Varies by course: some are open to beginners, others say they are not for beginners. Reforge is aimed at working practitioners: Product, growth, marketing, engineering and AI practitioners, and their teams.
Which ones teach live, and which are self-paced?
Product School teaches live: Live online cohorts; each certification ends in an instructor-graded capstone. The alternatives split three ways.
- Live and self-paced together. Builders Camp: Bootcamps run live in cohorts and are also available fully self-paced. Reforge: On-demand courses year-round, plus one live cohort course per member per season (Spring and Fall).
- Live first. Maven: Live cohort courses on Zoom with recordings, usually 2 to 6 weeks; also 1-day workshops and some self-paced courses with office hours. Product Faculty: Live instructor-led cohorts with recordings, weekly live workshops and a capstone per certification.
- Self-paced only. Coursera: Self-paced recorded video, quizzes and projects; no live classes.
If you want hands-on AI building specifically, check the named tools. Builders Camp: Bootcamps on Claude Code, Cursor, Lovable, AI agents and vibe coding, among others. Maven: The Claude Code for product managers category lists 10 cohort courses and 3 workshops; tools named on course pages include Claude Code, Codex, Lovable, MCP and n8n. Product Faculty: Courses include AI Product Management, AI-Native PM with Claude, Agentic Engineering and AI Evals. The AI product manager certification guide covers whether a certificate in this area is worth paying for at all.
Who teaches, and how much 1:1 time do you get?
Builders Camp: Each bootcamp is led by its own programme director, a working practitioner, from a pool of 40+ mentors and directors. Product School: Practitioner instructors who rotate per cohort; the homepage names employers including Anthropic, OpenAI, Google, Meta and Netflix. Reforge: Named operators per course, for example Sachin Rekhi, Ravi Mehta and Jiaona Zhang. Product Faculty: Named practitioners at OpenAI, Anthropic, Google and Uber, teaching in a personal capacity. Maven: Independent experts who create and run their own courses.
1:1 time is where the options differ most. Builders Camp includes it in the same price: 1:1 mentorship included: book sessions with 40+ mentors and directors, subject to availability. Product School, Reforge and Coursera list no 1:1 mentorship for individuals, on Maven it depends on the course, and Product Faculty includes 1:1 capstone feedback from faculty, with 1:1 coaching listed on its Teams page.
What does each certificate give you?
Every option here issues a certificate. Builders Camp: LinkedIn-integrated, uniquely identified certificate per completed bootcamp; stays accessible after you cancel. Product School: Certificate with a LinkedIn badge per certification. Product Faculty: One certificate per course, awarded after a faculty-reviewed capstone (a working AI product, a demo video and an AI PRD). Coursera: Shareable certificate for LinkedIn; IBM digital badge on IBM programmes; ACE college credit recommendation on IBM Product Manager and Microsoft AI Product Manager.
No certificate on this list guarantees a job. The PM certification guide goes through when a certificate helps and when it does not, and every head-to-head page is listed on Compare.
Ready to join the next generationof Product Builders?
Every bootcamp, live and self-paced, with 1:1 mentorship subject to availability, for €749 one-time or €249 a month. Drop your details to start your Membership application.
Not sure? Book a 15 min call about the MembershipFrequently asked questions
What is the cheapest alternative to Product School?
For recorded video only, Coursera: Coursera Plus €51 a month or €346 a year (prices shown to a visitor in Portugal), as of 28 September 2026. Self-paced recorded video, quizzes and projects; no live classes. Maven sells one course at a time: Priced per course by each instructor; sampled AI and product courses cost $499 to $2,700. For live classes plus self-paced access to every bootcamp, Builders Camp's Lifetime plan is €749 one-time with no renewal, where Reforge charges $1,995 a year plus tax, billed annually and Product Faculty $5,000 a year, renews automatically unless cancelled.
Which Product School alternative includes every course for one price?
Builders Camp covers 40+ bootcamps: €749 one-time (Lifetime) or €249 a month (Monthly), sales tax included, and Lifetime is the only one-time payment on this list that covers every course. Reforge charges $1,995 a year plus tax, billed annually. Product Faculty charges $5,000 a year, renews automatically unless cancelled. Maven sells each course separately, and Coursera Plus is a monthly or annual subscription.
Do I need product management experience for Product School's AI courses?
For some of them, yes. The Vibe Coding page says "This is not an entry level course" and "Completion of AI Product Management Certification is strongly advised". Builders Camp: No stated prerequisites to join: no prior product management experience or coding skills required at platform level.
Which alternatives include 1:1 mentorship?
Builders Camp: 1:1 mentorship included: book sessions with 40+ mentors and directors, subject to availability. Maven: Set by each course, not a platform feature; for example, the AI PM Bootcamp (Marily Nika) includes a mentor and 3 hours of 1:1 time with software engineers. Reforge: No 1:1 mentorship listed on the pricing or membership pages. Product Faculty: No standing 1:1 mentorship listed; the Fellowship includes 1:1 capstone feedback from faculty, and the Teams page lists 1:1 coaching. Product School: No 1:1 mentorship or coaching listed in any tier on the pricing page.
What certificate do you get from each option?
Builders Camp: LinkedIn-integrated, uniquely identified certificate per completed bootcamp; stays accessible after you cancel. Product School: Certificate with a LinkedIn badge per certification. Reforge: Downloadable certificate of completion. Coursera: Shareable certificate for LinkedIn; IBM digital badge on IBM programmes; ACE college credit recommendation on IBM Product Manager and Microsoft AI Product Manager.
Which option suits someone outside the US?
Builders Camp prices in euros with sales tax included, and every bootcamp is available self-paced as well as live, so you are never tied to one time zone. Product School: Cohort times listed in US Pacific time, with weekday and Saturday slots; language of instruction not stated on the site. Reforge: Live sessions on Tuesday, Wednesday and Thursday in US Pacific time, mostly mornings; recordings posted within 72 hours.
Join the Membership: €249 a month or €749 one-time →
Sources and method
Every fact about another provider on this page is taken from that provider's own public pages (for ownership news, the acquirer's announcement or a public filing), named below with the date each was checked; prices were checked on 28 September 2026. Facts about Builders Camp come from our own published pricing and terms. The table holds facts only; judgement is kept to the labelled sections. We use no competitor logos or screenshots. If anything here is wrong or out of date, email hey@builderscamp.com and we will check it and correct the page.
- Product School: productschool.com/pricing, checked 28 September 2026
- Product School: productschool.com/certifications, checked 28 September 2026
- Product School: productschool.com/certifications/claude-code, checked 28 September 2026
- Product School: productschool.com, checked 28 September 2026
- Product School: productschool.com/faq, checked 28 September 2026
- Reforge: reforge.com/pricing, checked 28 September 2026
- Reforge: reforge.helpscoutdocs.com/article/40-what-is-a-live-course-experience, checked 28 September 2026
- Reforge: reforge.helpscoutdocs.com/article/5-time-commitment, checked 28 September 2026
- Reforge: reforge.com/courses, checked 28 September 2026
- Reforge: reforge.helpscoutdocs.com/article/60-whats-included-in-the-reforge-membership, checked 28 September 2026
- Reforge: reforge.helpscoutdocs.com/article/129-do-i-get-a-certification-once-i-complete-a-course, checked 28 September 2026
- Reforge: reforge.helpscoutdocs.com/article/75-when-do-the-live-events-for-live-courses-take-place, checked 28 September 2026
- Maven: maven.com/jules-boiteux/claude-code-for-pms, checked 29 September 2026
- Maven: maven.com, checked 28 September 2026
- Maven: maven.com/courses/for-product-managers/claude-code, checked 29 September 2026
- Maven: maven.com/teach, checked 28 September 2026
- Maven: maven.com/marily-nika/ai-pm-bootcamp, checked 28 September 2026
- Maven: help.maven.com/en/articles/6804811-course-certificates, checked 28 September 2026
- Product Faculty: productfaculty.com, checked 29 September 2026
- Product Faculty: maven.com/product-faculty/ai-product-management-certification, checked 28 September 2026
- Product Faculty: productfaculty.com/courses/, checked 29 September 2026
- Coursera: coursera.org/courseraplus, checked 28 September 2026
- Coursera: coursera.org/professional-certificates/ibm-ai-product-manager, checked 28 September 2026
- Coursera: coursera.org/professional-certificates/ibm-product-manager, checked 28 September 2026
- Product School: productschool.com/certifications/vibe-coding, checked 29 September 2026
- Maven: maven.com/shreyas-doshi/product-sense, checked 28 September 2026

Andre Albuquerque
CEO of Builders Camp, SuperOperator, and other companies. Building products.
CEO of Builders Camp, SuperOperator, and other companies. Building products.
LinkedInMore guides by Andre AlbuquerqueLast updated 2026-09-29
Drafted with AI from each provider's own public pages, which are listed and dated on this page, and reviewed by a person before publishing.
Related comparisons and guides
Builders Camp vs Product School
Product School prices by certification: $2,999 for one certification; Pro $3,999 a year; Unlimited $4,999 a year...
Andre AlbuquerqueHow Much Does a Product Management Bootcamp Cost?
A single product management course runs from about $150 for a self-paced certificate to $4,999 for a live cohort...
Andre AlbuquerqueIs an AI Product Manager Certification Worth It?
AI product manager certifications range from about $150 total for a self-paced course like IBM's on Coursera to $2,999...
Andre AlbuquerqueIs a Product Management Certification Worth It?
A product management certification can structure your learning and signal effort, but none of the certifying bodies...
Andre Albuquerque