Builders Camp

Compare

Pragmatic Institute Alternatives

By Andre Albuquerque · Last checked:

Why choose Builders Camp

Pragmatic Institute sells one course at a time. Builders Camp covers every bootcamp for one payment.

  • Pragmatic Institute: $1,295 per course plus taxes. Builders Camp: €749 one-time for all 40+ bootcamps, live and self-paced.
  • At the ECB rate of 29 September 2026 (€1 = $1.1355), Lifetime costs less than one Pragmatic Institute course.
  • 1:1 mentorship included: book sessions with 40+ mentors and directors, subject to availability.
  • Hands-on AI building with named tools: Bootcamps on Claude Code, Cursor, Lovable, AI agents and vibe coding, among others.
  • Every bootcamp runs live in cohorts and is also fully self-paced, with community access included.

Pragmatic Institute charges $1,295 per course plus taxes, and a certification bundles several courses. The main alternatives are Product School (live certifications and annual plans in USD), Reforge (an annual membership), Maven (pay per course), Coursera (a self-paced video subscription) and Builders Camp, which covers all 40+ bootcamps, live and self-paced, for €749 one-time (Lifetime) or €249 a month (Monthly), sales tax included.

Builders Camp, Pragmatic Institute, Product School, Reforge, Maven and Coursera compared on price, what one payment includes, format and more, as of 28 September 2026. included with Builders Camp · not offered
Builders CampPragmatic Instituteas of 28 September 2026Product Schoolas of 28 September 2026Reforgeas of 28 September 2026Mavenas of 28 September 2026Courseraas of 28 September 2026
Price€749 one-time or €249/monthIncludes ALL 40+ bootcamps (live and self-paced), 1:1 mentorship with 40+ mentors and directors (subject to availability) and every experience in the membership: all 9 learning tracks, monthly live masterclasses and the on-demand archive, Quest Mode, templates, a certificate per completed bootcamp and community access. Sales tax included.$1,295 per course$1,295 per course plus taxes$2,999 per course, up to $4,999/yr$2,999 for one certification; Pro $3,999 a year; Unlimited $4,999 a year$1,995/yr + tax$1,995 a year plus tax, billed annually$499 to $2,700 per course1Priced per course by each instructor; sampled AI and product courses cost $499 to $2,700€51/month or €346/yrCoursera Plus €51 a month or €346 a year (prices shown to a visitor in Portugal)
What one payment includesAll 40+ bootcamps, one priceAll 40+ bootcamps (live and self-paced), all 9 learning tracks, 1:1 mentorship subject to availability, monthly live masterclasses and the archive, Quest Mode, templates, a certificate per completed bootcamp and community accessOne courseOne course: the class, a course badge, and lifetime access to that course's materials through the Alumni Community11 certifications for $4,999/yrUnlimited ($4,999 a year): 11 live certifications, weekly live AI workshops, the on-demand library, the alumni community, one ProductCon ticket and access to partner AI tools40+ on-demand coursesLive courses (one per season), 40+ on-demand courses, 600+ guides, 1,400+ artifacts and the Slack communityOne courseOne course: its live sessions, recordings, a cohort community space, projects and a certificateMost Coursera certificatesCoursera Plus: access to most certificates on Coursera, including all four PM programmes checked
FormatLive cohorts + fully self-pacedBootcamps run live in cohorts and are also available fully self-pacedOne-day classesEach course is one class of 7 to 7.5 hours, taken live online, in person or on demandLive online cohortsLive online cohorts; each certification ends in an instructor-graded capstoneOn-demand, 1 live course per seasonOn-demand courses year-round, plus one live cohort course per member per season (Spring and Fall)Live cohorts, per courseLive cohort courses on Zoom with recordings, usually 2 to 6 weeks; also 1-day workshops and some self-paced courses with office hoursSelf-paced video, no live classesSelf-paced recorded video, quizzes and projects; no live classes
Time per week and length1 or 2 weeks per bootcampEach bootcamp runs 1 or 2 weeks: a live 2-hour lecture, self-paced microlessons, a practical challenge, a 1-hour live Q&A masterclass and a graded final quiz7 to 7.5 hours per courseOne class of 7 to 7.5 hours per course; the AI Product Management Expert certification is 3 courses, about 22 hours, which the page says can be completed in 1 week3 weeks, 12 live hours3 weeks per certification: 6 live sessions of 2 hours (12 live hours), or a Saturday format3 to 5 hours a week3 to 5 hours a week; live courses mostly run 4 weeks (a few 6) with one 90-minute session a week2 to 6 weeks per courseSet per course; sampled AI-for-PM courses run 2 to 6 weeks at 2 to 8 hours a weekAbout 3 months at 10 h/weekIBM AI Product Manager: 10 courses, 3 months at 10 hours a week (Coursera's estimate)
InstructorsA programme director per bootcampEach bootcamp is led by its own programme director, a working practitioner, from a pool of 40+ mentors and directorsFull-time Pragmatic instructorsFull-time Pragmatic instructors, described by the company as averaging 25 years of experienceRotating practitionersPractitioner instructors who rotate per cohort; the homepage names employers including Anthropic, OpenAI, Google, Meta and NetflixNamed operators per courseNamed operators per course, for example Sachin Rekhi, Ravi Mehta and Jiaona ZhangIndependent expertsIndependent experts who create and run their own coursesIBM, Microsoft and university staffPartner staff, for example the IBM Skills Network team; university faculty on the Duke and UVA programmes
1:1 mentorshipIncluded, subject to availability1:1 mentorship included: book sessions with 40+ mentors and directors, subject to availabilityNo 1:1 mentorship for individualsNo 1:1 mentorship listed for individuals; coaching and implementation support listed only for teamsNo 1:1 mentorshipNo 1:1 mentorship or coaching listed in any tier on the pricing pageNo 1:1 mentorshipNo 1:1 mentorship listed on the pricing or membership pagesVaries by courseSet by each course, not a platform feature; for example, the AI PM Bootcamp (Marily Nika) includes a mentor and 3 hours of 1:1 time with software engineersNo 1:1 mentorshipNo 1:1 mentorship; IBM Product Manager lists mock interviews and resume support
CommunitySlack communityCommunity access, including the Slack communityAlumni communityAlumni Community, open after completing one courseAlumni community (Pro and Unlimited)Alumni community, included in Pro and Unlimited (not in the single certification)Slack communityPer-cohort space onlyEach cohort has its own Slack or forum space; no community shared across coursesDiscussion forumsCourse discussion forums
CertificateLinkedIn certificate per bootcampLinkedIn-integrated, uniquely identified certificate per completed bootcamp; stays accessible after you cancelCertification, expires in 2 yearsCertification after all required courses; the AI Product Management Expert certification "expires in two years" from the last course completedCertificate with LinkedIn badgeCertificate with a LinkedIn badge per certificationCertificate of completionDownloadable certificate of completionCertificate per courseCertificate issued by Maven on the instructor's behalf after the cohort ends; can be added to LinkedInShareable certificateShareable certificate for LinkedIn; IBM digital badge on IBM programmes; ACE college credit recommendation on IBM Product Manager and Microsoft AI Product Manager
AI building coverageClaude Code, Cursor, Lovable, agentsBootcamps on Claude Code, Cursor, Lovable, AI agents and vibe coding, among othersAI courses for PMsAI courses include AI for Product Managers, AI in Your Product, AI Agents for Product Professionals and Vibe Coding for Problem Validation, which says it "focuses on the validation process, not a specific AI tool"AI build certificationsLive certifications in Claude Code for PMs, Vibe Coding, Codex for PMs, Agentic Workflows and Loops, AI Evals and AI Product ManagementAI strategy, evals and prototypingLive AI courses listed: AI Transformation, AI Productivity, AI Evals, AI Prototyping, AI Strategy, AI Product Leadership and AI GrowthSeparate AI courses per instructor2The Claude Code for product managers category lists 10 cohort courses and 3 workshops; tools named on course pages include Claude Code, Codex, Lovable, MCP and n8nGenerative AI and prompting basicsIBM AI Product Manager includes courses on generative AI, prompt engineering basics, foundation models and building AI-powered products; Microsoft AI Product Manager names Microsoft 365 Copilot, Power BI and Azure, and no AI coding tools
Language and scheduleEnglish, live or self-pacedEnglish; live sessions run on business days, and every bootcamp is also available self-pacedMorning or afternoon classesLive online classes offered as a morning or an afternoon option; time zone not stated on the course pageUS Pacific timeCohort times listed in US Pacific time, with weekday and Saturday slots; language of instruction not stated on the siteUS Pacific morningsLive sessions on Tuesday, Wednesday and Thursday in US Pacific time, mostly mornings; recordings posted within 72 hoursSet by each instructor3Courses checked are in English; each instructor sets the session times, for example Claude Code for Product Managers meets Wednesdays 17:30 to 19:00 UTCSelf-paced, subtitledEnglish with machine-translated subtitles and localised pages; self-paced, so no time zone
  1. 1 Maven, price: checked on 29 September 2026.
  2. 2 Maven, ai building coverage: checked on 29 September 2026.
  3. 3 Maven, language and schedule: checked on 29 September 2026.

Facts about other providers come from each provider's own site; prices checked on 28 September 2026. Think something has changed? Email hey@builderscamp.com and we will check it and correct the page.

Which option fits which reader

Builders Camp

Best if you would rather pay once for the whole catalogue than buy course by course: every bootcamp, live or self-paced, for €749 one-time (Lifetime) or €249 a month (Monthly), sales tax included. 1:1 mentorship included: book sessions with 40+ mentors and directors, subject to availability. It adds hands-on AI building with named tools: Bootcamps on Claude Code, Cursor, Lovable, AI agents and vibe coding, among others.

Pragmatic Institute

Fits if your employer is paying for a one-day class in a set framework, or wants a whole team trained together. Price: $1,295 per course plus taxes. Teams: Private workshops for 10 to 50 people and an Enterprise Access Pass; price on enquiry.

Product School

Fits if your employer covers a US-priced live certification or annual plan scheduled on US Pacific time. Price: $2,999 for one certification; Pro $3,999 a year; Unlimited $4,999 a year.

Reforge

Fits experienced product and growth practitioners whose company pays for an annual membership, since courses are not sold one at a time. Price: $1,995 a year plus tax, billed annually.

Maven

Fits if you want a multi-week live course on one topic instead of a one-day class. Priced per course by each instructor; sampled AI and product courses cost $499 to $2,700.

Coursera

Fits if you want the lowest monthly cost on this page and are fine with recorded video only. Price: Coursera Plus €51 a month or €346 a year (prices shown to a visitor in Portugal). Self-paced recorded video, quizzes and projects; no live classes.

How does paying per course compare with the alternatives?

Pragmatic Institute charges per course: $1,295 per course plus taxes. Pay-per-course product training; a certification bundles 3 courses (8 for Product Master). Buying all 3 courses of a certification at once saves $200. What one payment buys: One course: the class, a course badge, and lifetime access to that course's materials through the Alumni Community.

Each alternative prices that differently:

  • Builders Camp: €749 one-time (Lifetime) or €249 a month (Monthly), sales tax included. Lifetime is a one-time payment with no subscription; Monthly renews monthly and can be cancelled any time. Either plan includes: All 40+ bootcamps (live and self-paced), all 9 learning tracks, 1:1 mentorship subject to availability, monthly live masterclasses and the archive, Quest Mode, templates, a certificate per completed bootcamp and community access.
  • Product School: $2,999 for one certification; Pro $3,999 a year; Unlimited $4,999 a year. Memberships are billed annually; a single certification is a one-time payment.
  • Reforge: $1,995 a year plus tax, billed annually. Annual membership only; courses cannot be bought individually.
  • Maven: Priced per course by each instructor; sampled AI and product courses cost $499 to $2,700. Pay per course; no all-courses subscription listed on maven.com.
  • Coursera: Coursera Plus €51 a month or €346 a year (prices shown to a visitor in Portugal). Monthly or annual subscription (Coursera Plus); 7-day free trial on monthly.

Pragmatic Institute and Product School both sell a single course, so set one course against what Builders Camp's one payment covers. Pragmatic Institute: $1,295 per course plus taxes. Product School: $2,999 one-time for one live certification. Builders Camp: €749 one-time for all 40+ bootcamps. At the ECB euro reference rate of 29 September 2026 (€1 = $1.1355), Builders Camp Lifetime costs less than one Pragmatic Institute course, and less than one Product School single certification. A Pragmatic course is one day and a Builders Camp bootcamp runs 1 or 2 weeks, so this sets payment against payment, not course against bootcamp.

Coursera Plus is a subscription that costs less up front than Builders Camp Lifetime, so the comparison there is live teaching and 1:1 time. Coursera: Self-paced recorded video, quizzes and projects; no live classes. No 1:1 mentorship; IBM Product Manager lists mock interviews and resume support. Builders Camp: Bootcamps run live in cohorts and are also available fully self-paced. 1:1 mentorship included: book sessions with 40+ mentors and directors, subject to availability. For the full price range by format, see how much a product management bootcamp costs.

Which alternatives teach hands-on AI building?

Builders Camp teaches building with named tools: Bootcamps on Claude Code, Cursor, Lovable, AI agents and vibe coding, among others, all included in the Membership.

Pragmatic Institute: AI courses include AI for Product Managers, AI in Your Product, AI Agents for Product Professionals and Vibe Coding for Problem Validation, which says it "focuses on the validation process, not a specific AI tool". Product School: Live certifications in Claude Code for PMs, Vibe Coding, Codex for PMs, Agentic Workflows and Loops, AI Evals and AI Product Management. Reforge: Live AI courses listed: AI Transformation, AI Productivity, AI Evals, AI Prototyping, AI Strategy, AI Product Leadership and AI Growth. Maven: The Claude Code for product managers category lists 10 cohort courses and 3 workshops; tools named on course pages include Claude Code, Codex, Lovable, MCP and n8n, each sold as a separate course. Coursera: IBM AI Product Manager includes courses on generative AI, prompt engineering basics, foundation models and building AI-powered products; Microsoft AI Product Manager names Microsoft 365 Copilot, Power BI and Azure, and no AI coding tools.

Entry requirements differ too. Builders Camp: No stated prerequisites to join: no prior product management experience or coding skills required at platform level. Product School: The Vibe Coding page says "This is not an entry level course" and "Completion of AI Product Management Certification is strongly advised". For how much weight an AI certificate carries once you have it, see whether an AI product manager certification is worth it.

How much live teaching and 1:1 time do you get?

Pragmatic Institute teaches in single-day classes: Each course is one class of 7 to 7.5 hours, taken live online, in person or on demand. Length: One class of 7 to 7.5 hours per course; the AI Product Management Expert certification is 3 courses, about 22 hours, which the page says can be completed in 1 week.

Builders Camp runs every bootcamp live and self-paced: Each bootcamp runs 1 or 2 weeks: a live 2-hour lecture, self-paced microlessons, a practical challenge, a 1-hour live Q&A masterclass and a graded final quiz. You can join the live session, watch the recording or go straight to the self-paced version. Product School: 3 weeks per certification: 6 live sessions of 2 hours (12 live hours), or a Saturday format. Reforge: On-demand courses year-round, plus one live cohort course per member per season (Spring and Fall). Maven: Live cohort courses on Zoom with recordings, usually 2 to 6 weeks; also 1-day workshops and some self-paced courses with office hours. Coursera: Self-paced recorded video, quizzes and projects; no live classes.

Pragmatic Institute keeps coaching for teams: No 1:1 mentorship listed for individuals; coaching and implementation support listed only for teams. Builders Camp includes 1:1 time for individual members on both plans: 1:1 mentorship included: book sessions with 40+ mentors and directors, subject to availability. Product School, Reforge and Coursera list no 1:1 mentorship for individuals, and on Maven it depends on the course.

When is Pragmatic Institute still the right pick?

When your employer pays and wants a one-day class in a set framework, or wants to train a whole team together. Who it is aimed at: Product managers, product marketers and product operations professionals, with a certification for each. Its instructors: Full-time Pragmatic instructors, described by the company as averaging 25 years of experience. Teams: Private workshops for 10 to 50 people and an Enterprise Access Pass; price on enquiry.

If you are paying yourself, one Pragmatic Institute course costs more than Builders Camp Lifetime at the ECB rate above, and Lifetime covers all 40+ bootcamps, live and self-paced, with 1:1 mentorship subject to availability, for €749 one-time. The guide on whether a PM certification is worth it covers what a certificate can and cannot do for you, and every head to head page is listed on the compare hub.

40+ bootcamps · €749 one-time

Ready to join the next generationof Product Builders?

Every bootcamp, live and self-paced, with 1:1 mentorship subject to availability, for €749 one-time or €249 a month. Drop your details to start your Membership application.

Not sure? Book a 15 min call about the Membership

Frequently asked questions

How much does Pragmatic Institute cost?

$1,295 per course plus taxes, as of 28 September 2026. Pay per course; no subscription. Pay-per-course product training; a certification bundles 3 courses (8 for Product Master). Buying all 3 courses of a certification at once saves $200. Builders Camp covers all 40+ bootcamps for €749 one-time (Lifetime) or €249 a month (Monthly), sales tax included.

Is Pragmatic Institute worth it if my employer is not paying?

Compare what one payment buys. Pragmatic Institute: One course: the class, a course badge, and lifetime access to that course's materials through the Alumni Community, for $1,295 per course plus taxes. Builders Camp: All 40+ bootcamps (live and self-paced), all 9 learning tracks, 1:1 mentorship subject to availability, monthly live masterclasses and the archive, Quest Mode, templates, a certificate per completed bootcamp and community access, for €749 one-time. At the ECB euro reference rate of 29 September 2026 (€1 = $1.1355), Builders Camp Lifetime costs less than one Pragmatic Institute course.

Does the Pragmatic Institute certification expire?

The AI Product Management Expert certification does. Pragmatic Institute: Certification after all required courses; the AI Product Management Expert certification "expires in two years" from the last course completed, as of 28 September 2026. Check the page of the specific certification you are considering before you buy.

Does Pragmatic Institute teach you to build with AI tools like Claude Code or Cursor?

Pragmatic Institute's AI courses, as of 28 September 2026: AI courses include AI for Product Managers, AI in Your Product, AI Agents for Product Professionals and Vibe Coding for Problem Validation, which says it "focuses on the validation process, not a specific AI tool". Builders Camp teaches building with named tools: Bootcamps on Claude Code, Cursor, Lovable, AI agents and vibe coding, among others, all included in the Membership.

Which Pragmatic Institute alternative includes 1:1 mentorship?

Builders Camp: 1:1 mentorship included: book sessions with 40+ mentors and directors, subject to availability, in both Membership plans. Pragmatic Institute: No 1:1 mentorship listed for individuals; coaching and implementation support listed only for teams. On Maven it depends on the course: Set by each course, not a platform feature; for example, the AI PM Bootcamp (Marily Nika) includes a mentor and 3 hours of 1:1 time with software engineers. Product School, Reforge and Coursera list no 1:1 mentorship for individuals.

Can I take a product course without a product management background?

Yes. Builders Camp: No stated prerequisites to join: no prior product management experience or coding skills required at platform level. Coursera: Beginners: all five PM programmes checked are labelled Beginner. Some alternatives set a higher bar for their AI build courses. Product School: The Vibe Coding page says "This is not an entry level course" and "Completion of AI Product Management Certification is strongly advised".

How long is a Pragmatic Institute course compared with a Builders Camp bootcamp?

Pragmatic Institute: One class of 7 to 7.5 hours per course; the AI Product Management Expert certification is 3 courses, about 22 hours, which the page says can be completed in 1 week. Builders Camp: Each bootcamp runs 1 or 2 weeks: a live 2-hour lecture, self-paced microlessons, a practical challenge, a 1-hour live Q&A masterclass and a graded final quiz.

Join the Membership: €249 a month or €749 one-time →

Sources and method

Every fact about another provider on this page is taken from that provider's own public pages (for ownership news, the acquirer's announcement or a public filing), named below with the date each was checked; prices were checked on 28 September 2026. Facts about Builders Camp come from our own published pricing and terms. The table holds facts only; judgement is kept to the labelled sections. We use no competitor logos or screenshots. If anything here is wrong or out of date, email hey@builderscamp.com and we will check it and correct the page.

  • Pragmatic Institute: pragmaticinstitute.com/product/course/ai-for-product-managers/, checked 28 September 2026
  • Pragmatic Institute: pragmaticinstitute.com/faq/, checked 28 September 2026
  • Pragmatic Institute: pragmaticinstitute.com/product/ai-product-management-expert-certification/, checked 28 September 2026
  • Pragmatic Institute: pragmaticinstitute.com/pragmatic-institute-vs-product-school/, checked 28 September 2026
  • Pragmatic Institute: pragmaticinstitute.com/product/team/, checked 28 September 2026
  • Pragmatic Institute: pragmaticinstitute.com/product/course/vibe-coding-for-problem-validation/, checked 28 September 2026
  • Pragmatic Institute: pragmaticinstitute.com/product/course/price/, checked 28 September 2026
  • Product School: productschool.com/pricing, checked 28 September 2026
  • Product School: productschool.com/certifications, checked 28 September 2026
  • Product School: productschool.com/certifications/claude-code, checked 28 September 2026
  • Product School: productschool.com, checked 28 September 2026
  • Product School: productschool.com/faq, checked 28 September 2026
  • Reforge: reforge.com/pricing, checked 28 September 2026
  • Reforge: reforge.helpscoutdocs.com/article/40-what-is-a-live-course-experience, checked 28 September 2026
  • Reforge: reforge.helpscoutdocs.com/article/5-time-commitment, checked 28 September 2026
  • Reforge: reforge.com/courses, checked 28 September 2026
  • Reforge: reforge.helpscoutdocs.com/article/60-whats-included-in-the-reforge-membership, checked 28 September 2026
  • Reforge: reforge.helpscoutdocs.com/article/129-do-i-get-a-certification-once-i-complete-a-course, checked 28 September 2026
  • Reforge: reforge.helpscoutdocs.com/article/75-when-do-the-live-events-for-live-courses-take-place, checked 28 September 2026
  • Maven: maven.com/jules-boiteux/claude-code-for-pms, checked 29 September 2026
  • Maven: maven.com, checked 28 September 2026
  • Maven: maven.com/courses/for-product-managers/claude-code, checked 29 September 2026
  • Maven: maven.com/teach, checked 28 September 2026
  • Maven: maven.com/marily-nika/ai-pm-bootcamp, checked 28 September 2026
  • Maven: help.maven.com/en/articles/6804811-course-certificates, checked 28 September 2026
  • Coursera: coursera.org/courseraplus, checked 28 September 2026
  • Coursera: coursera.org/professional-certificates/ibm-ai-product-manager, checked 28 September 2026
  • Coursera: coursera.org/professional-certificates/ibm-product-manager, checked 28 September 2026
  • Pragmatic Institute: pragmaticinstitute.com/certifications/, checked 28 September 2026
  • Pragmatic Institute: pragmaticinstitute.com/product/product-management-certification/, checked 28 September 2026
  • Product School: productschool.com/certifications/vibe-coding, checked 29 September 2026
  • Pragmatic Institute: pragmaticinstitute.com, checked 28 September 2026

Written by

Andre Albuquerque

Andre Albuquerque

CEO of Builders Camp, SuperOperator, and other companies. Building products.

CEO of Builders Camp, SuperOperator, and other companies. Building products.

LinkedInMore guides by Andre Albuquerque

Last updated 2026-09-29

Drafted with AI from each provider's own public pages, which are listed and dated on this page, and reviewed by a person before publishing.

Join the Membership: €249 a month or €749 one-time